• If you like free radio…

  • New Audio

  • RSS Fabulous Podcasts

    • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

  • Threadless Tshirts RULE!!!

    the best tshirts on the planet are from Threadless....

Mike Watt, Luna, Devendra Share Guilt

Posted by Molli Fire on Wednesday, 25April07

Guilt By Association is a new compilation, due to be released by Engine Room Recordings on August 7th, 2007 in the States, that will showcase your favorite indie bands covering their favorite “songs-they-would-normally-be-embarrased-to-admit-they-like-without-a-record-deal” songs.

From the album’s official murdochspace page:

Have you ever felt embarrassed listening to one-hit wonders or pop gems of yesteryear? Fear not. Your favorite Indie superstars are giving the OK by joining in together for “Guilt By Association”, a collection of songs by today’s most exciting Indie talent re-interpreting their favorite guilty pleasure pop songs. Petra Haden delivers a soaring acapella version of Journey’s anthem Don’t Stop Believin’. Will Oldham/Bonnie ‘Prince’ Billy turns Mariah Carey’s Can’t Take That Away into a bittersweet synth ballad. Jim O’Rourke, who produced albums for Wilco, Beth Orton and Joanna Newsom transforms the Spice Girls’ ballad Viva Forever into something that wouldn’t have been out of place as a take out of a Beth Orton session.

Lets all wallow in our guilt and enjoy these remembered gems, indie-style.

The Concretes/Back For Good (Take That)
Porter Block/Breaking Free (High School Musical)
Mike Watt/Burning For You (Blue Oyster Cult)
Will Oldham/Bonnie ‘Prince’ Billy/Can’t Take That Away (Mariah Carey)
Casey Shea/Chop Suey (System of a Down)
Devendra Banhart/Don’t Look Back In Anger (Oasis)
Petra Haden/Don’t Stop Believing (Journey)
Mark Mulcahy/From This Moment On (Shania Twain)
Mooney Suzuki/Just Like Jesse James (Cher)
Money Mark/Love’s Theme (Love Unlimited Orchestra)
Superchunk/Say My Name (Destiny’s Child)
Luna/Straight Up (Paula Abdul)
Goat/Sugar We’re Going Down (Fall Out Boy)
Geoff Farina/Two Tickets To Paradise (Eddie Money)
Jim O’Rourke/Viva Forever(Spice Girls)


There is also a video contest to get you even more jazzed about reviving embarassing songs from the past. You can submit videos for any of these three tracks from the upcoming album :

Petra Haden/Don’t Stop Believing
Will Oldham/Bonnie ‘Prince’ Billy/Can’t Take That Away
Devendra Banhart/Don’t Look Back In Anger

To enter, go to the album’s official murdochspace page for more info. It requires an email proposal of what you would like to make. If you win, your independently made video will be the official video for the song in every way. The deadline for proposals is May 15th. The final video needs to be finished by June 1st in order to be considered.

You can also hear songs from the album streaming on Engine Room Recordings website.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: