HT

  • If you like free radio…



    SaveNetRadio.org


  • New Audio

  • RSS Fabulous Podcasts

    • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.





  • Threadless Tshirts RULE!!!



    the best tshirts on the planet are from Threadless....







Rock N Roll Til The Day I Die

Posted by Molli Fire on Friday, 15June07

Young@Heart rocks! I saw this article on yahoo news and I thought it was going to be some kind of “senior citizens find reason to live through rock n roll” but I was quite wrong! It turns out that the 23 elders that comprise the Young@Heart Chorus are putting an all new edge on some of rock’s biggest hits.

Rockin At Heaven's Door With The Young At Heart Chorus
Elaine Fligman of the Young@Heart Chorus giving it her all:

The morbid messages in some of rock’s great anthems takes on a serious tone when sung by those toe-ing the line between here and the afterlife, while teen-age dimentia becomes hilarious when belted out by the well-senile. Take for example –

“My future is static / It’s already had it.” — Steve Martin, 79, singing Sonic Youth‘s “Schizophrenia.”

Or contemplating life and death with the Clash‘s “Should I Stay or Should I Go.” I had never heard of them before today, but apparently they are international stars and tour around the world. They have even performed for the king and queen of Norway!

Under the direction of wheelchair-bound Fred Knittle, the Young@Heart Chorus is trying to record a full length album of such covers, tentatively to be titled Rockin’ At Heaven’s Door. HAha! I LOVE it! These seniors rule, and if you aren’t convinced, then I am just doing a poor job representin. Check out the full story on yahoo news.

Y@H with “I Want To Be Sedated” by the Ramones:

 

 

 

 


Technorati Tags: , , , , , ,

One Response to “Rock N Roll Til The Day I Die”

  1. […] Rock N Roll Til The Day I DieHave A Blast At The Glast!Citysol – Live Music Via Solar Power, BiodieselBjork Technology + M.I.A. To Open In FranceYeah Yeah Yeahs – Is Is + Download USPassAlong + EMI = DRM-FreeFratellis Say No F*#king Way To BeckhamDo You Like Live Dubstep, Grime And Wiley Shows?Beastie Boys Bring Back Hip Hop On US TourBehind The Scenes With M.I.A. And Her “Boyz” […]

Leave a Reply

 
